View our mobile site
Local Environment Agriculture Canadian Press

Two Hills, Glendon and Myrnam results

Oct 29, 2013 11:00 am | Journal Staff

Two first-time candidates topped the polls in Elk Point's municipal election on Oct. 21, with Lorne Young receiving 257 votes and Debra McQuinn 207 votes.

Back for another term are incumbents Dwayne Yaremkevich, with 198 votes and Bernice Capjack with 178 votes, along with Mayor Parrish Tung, who was re-elected by acclamation.

Not elected, in the order of finish, were Dick Millar, 149 votes; Lawrence Pidluzny, 116 votes; Eugene Buck, 107 votes; Ron Fraess, 74 votes; Bernadette Godlein, 52 votes; and Coral Kratchmer, 24 votes.

“Obviously, the residents have chosen wisely,” Mayor Tung said. “I think the four most qualified candidates got elected. I am looking forward to four years with a great council to work with.” Tung said that at council’s organizational meeting, all councilors would have input into the committees they would like to work with, and added that in the coming term, “I would like council’s efforts to be more collaborative.”

Town of Two Hills

The Mayor of the Town of Two Hills is now Henry Neufeld, having been elected with a total of 236 votes, defeating incumbent Elaine Sorochan who had 217 total votes.

Four familiar faces were elected to the Town of Two Hills council, with Willie Babiuk getting elected with 197 votes, Gerren Saskiw getting elected with 191 votes, Sonny Rajoo getting elected with 186 votes, and Bruce Gray getting elected with 172 votes.

County of Two Hills

The County of Two Hills council will remain as it was following Monday’s election. The only division that was contested was Division 3, which saw incumbent Patrick Gordeyko take 232 votes and candidate Herman Peters took 32 votes.

Acclaimed were Albert Pidruchney in Division 1; Allan Sayler in Division 2; Soren Odegard in Division 4; and Elroy Yakemchuk for Division 5.

School board

For the St. Paul Regional Division #1 School Board election, Ward A saw Lorne Young in as trustee by acclamation, Ward B saw Deb Pederson in by acclamation, Ward D saw Rhonda Lafrance in by acclamation, Ward E saw Rhea Looy in by acclamation, Ward F saw Heather Starosielski in by acclamation, and the Glen Avon Ward saw Christopher Cook in by acclamation.

In the contested Ward C, Ruven Rajoo has been voted in as trustee, with 543 total votes, winning over Leonard Ewanishan who had a total of 292 votes.


The Village of Glendon will have an all-new council for the next four years, as newcomers Laura Papirny, Peter Doonanco and Nancy Pelletier were elected with 130 votes, 109 votes and 84 votes respectively.

Incumbent Willie Moleschi received 70 votes, Michael Drader received 54 votes and the other incumbent Rick Steiben received 52 votes.

The three new councillors will now select amongst themselves one councillor to become the new village mayor.

Village of Myrnam

The Village Council candidates elected include Donna Rudolf with 103 total votes, Ed Sosnowski with 103 total votes, and Raymond Yaremchuk with 91 total votes, while incumbent David Dubelt was defeated, with a total of 41 votes.


The St. Paul Journal welcomes your opinions and comments. We do not allow personal attacks, offensive language or unsubstantiated allegations. We reserve the right to delete comments deemed inappropriate. We reserve the right to close the comments thread for stories that are deemed especially sensitive. For further information, please contact the editor or publisher.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Community Events Rss icon

April 2014